Drinking Together: The Asian Kendi

July 8, 2012 § Leave a comment


About a year ago I was in the Minneapolis Institute of Art (MIA) and took photos of a number of items.  Usually I take a photo of the label as well.  Later as I was going though my shots a came across a lovely vessel that I used in a drawing. I discovered that I had no idea what it was or in what museum I had taken the shot. I had not even taken a photo of the label.  I assumed that I was an object some where in MIA’s Asian collection.  I have been wandering the those collections on each visit and have had not discovered it.  I began to wonder if I might be wrong and the object was at the Met in New York City.  This past week however I found the object in a part of the Asian collection at MIA that is somewhat separate from the other, which is upstairs. One the first floor there is India and Southeast Asia.

I later discovered later that the sweet little vessel is called a Kendi. It has a very long history in Asia and is also depicted in European art from time to time. I must admit that I can understand that.  There is something so appealing about its form. This is a lovely  water vessel without handles. It has a long neck that doubles as a place to fill the pot with liquid and  a place to hold, lift and manipulate it.  A spout coming out of a round and squat body. It is a great communal drinking vessel in that liquid can be poured from the vessel with out lips coming into contact with it.

More about Kendi can be found here:  http://rooneyarchive.net/articles/kendi/kendi_album/kendi.htm

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Drinking Together: The Asian Kendi at Nightpaintings: Leon Waller.

meta

