At Arm’s Length

June 2, 2012 § Leave a comment


I have been painting small works in order to explore my tools and my materials this work started with drawing and painting the hands first it took me more than seven attempts to get the body, anywhere near being correct. The proportions were badly off time and time again. I could not figure what the length of the arm should be. I discovered by measuring my own hands against my arm that four hands is about the length arm should be. I also discovered how forgiving black gesso on illustration board is. And one last thing, I had to deal with failing time and time again and not let it get to me, and not feel like a failure myself. Well the hard part of this painting is done now I get to play a bit.

20120602-195659.jpg

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading At Arm’s Length at Nightpaintings: Leon Waller.

meta

