To Fool the Eye?

June 4, 2011 § Leave a comment


Yesterday I was at the Minneapolis Institute of Art. I go often when I am here in this city.  I love the collection. Yesterday I visited a drawing show. One drawing in particular got my attention.  It was by Patrick Lee.  I was astonished by the skill and the patience of this artist! His theme was the danger and the beauty of certain overly masculine males. It seems that he gets there trust, photographs them and from those images, he does amazing graphite drawings. These works are so close to photos you would be hard press to see the difference.  This however for me raises the question of why fool the eye. Why not take the photo and have done with it. What is the point of fooling the eye.  if this is what it is about or is there something I am missing.  Is there something about making the photo into a drawing that brings us closer to the

Drawing by Patrick Lee

theme?  Hummm?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading To Fool the Eye? at Nightpaintings: Leon Waller.

meta

